Please enter a searchword.
15.11.2018 11:44 Age: 192 days
Category: Media Matters

Media Awards back in 2019 For Namibia

Namibia’s annual media awards have been handed a new lifeline after the Editors’ Forum of Namibia (EFN) revealed plans to resuscitate the annual event next year.

Joseph Ailonga
The decision was taken at the forum’s annual general meeting last week and it is to recognize “work that raises the quality of journalism in the country”.
A statement by the EFN said the funds raised at a dinner late in September in celebration of the International Day of Universal Access to Information will be used to support the operations of the media ombudsman.
“Information about the categories for entries, the closing date and the date of the awards ceremony will be communicated to journalists early next year” the statement read.
This announcement comes nearly a decade after the last such awards were held in 2010, when they were still being hosted under the auspices of the Media Institute of Southern Africa (MISA).
Then, awards were presented in categories such as best feature writer, best community reporter, best columnist, journalism photographer of the year, best news photo, best feature photo, and best sports photo.
Criteria for awarding the best journalists included accuracy and balance, creativity and fairness, significance and effectiveness, enterprise and ingenuity, quality of writing and mastering of style, quality of research and sources used as well as adherence to journalistic standards and ethics.
Past winners include veteran freelance journalist John Grobler (Journalist of the Year 2007) and 2010 best community reporter Die Republikein’s Des Erasmus for his piece on "Erongo"     

Headlines by the month
May - 2019
Mo Tu We Th Fr Sa Su
  01 02 03 04 05
06 07 08 09 10 11 12
13 14 15 16 17 18 19
20 21 22 23 24 25 26
28 29 30 31